Strawberry Hazelnut White Chocolate Cookies

11 Mar

the other day I found some Ritter Sport brand White Chocolate with Whole Hazelnut bars on sale at the grocery store, apparently after Valentine’s Day they had more candy than they knew what to do with. Well, this morning I couldn’t stop thinking about making some cookies, lol. 

So I went online and found Martha Stewart’s Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe. I modified it a bit by chopping up the white chocolate bars, adding dried strawberries and a handful of crushed hazelnuts, but the results were exactly what I wanted! Soft chewy cookies with a strawberry shortcake kind of flavor. They would be just as good with dark chocolate of course, but sometimes I like the creamy goodness of white chocolate too.

One other modification I did was to cut the sugar way down. White chocolate is sweet enough as it is, I figured the cookies didn’t need that much more. Seems to have worked like a charm! 

And of course as usual, I overstuffed my cookies, lol. I’m not happy unless every bite has at least two chunks of something in it!


In one bowl add;

2 1/4 cups flower

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

With fork, whisk these together to mix and lighten them, or sift em together if you want to do it like gramma used to. 


In a deeper mixing bowl cream together;

1 cup unsalted butter (two sticks)

1/3 cup sugar

2/3 cup light brown sugar

Once creamy and smooth, add;

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 eggs

Dash of salt

Cream these together, then fold in the flour mix a third at a time. 

Chop and add;

2 x 3.5oz bars of White Chocolate

1/2 cup or so hazelnuts

1/2 cup or so dried strawberries (or cranberries, blueberries, whatever dried fruit floats your boat)


Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes (12 in my slow oven.) Let cool on pan for two, then transfer to a wire rack. Try not to eat them when they are so hot they burn your mouth! Lol

Leave a Reply

