Garden Project- Tipsy Pots

22 May

Ok, so this has been all over Pinterest and different DIY garden blogs, and I kinda like the effect… It’s always nice to have more vertical planting space in the garden. I happened to find some good sized clay pots in the recycle bin at Swanson’s Nursery, so I brought them home, and with a piece of rebar quickly assembled this tipsy pot combo-

20140522-102129-37289062.jpg

The bottom pot already had soil and plants in it- mint, a little rose that is struggling, weeds. I ended up planting into it some cuttings of Fuchsia triphylla ‘Gartenmeister Bonstedt’ I overwintered, then added some Cuphea ‘Carribean Sunset’, a white Bidens humilis ‘Priate’s Pearl’ and some Lobelia erinus ‘Sapphire’. I was worried with the tippy pots on the pole, that the soil would wash out, so I added moss to soak up and blunt hthe force of the hose when watering. So far so good!

20140522-102632-37592213.jpg

Overall I’m happy with it so far, but we will see how it works over the summer.

20140522-102758-37678266.jpg

Leave a Reply

