Plant Purchases- April 2014

5 May

Ok so what I so far have gleaned from what I got at the WNPS sale for me is the following:

Antennaria rosea
Aquilegia formosa
Campanula rotundifolia
Delphinium sp
Huechera chlorantha
Linum lewisii
Penstemon richardsonii
Penstemon procerus
Trientalis latifolia
Turritus (Arabis) glauca
Viola adunca

(And snitched a cutting off Viola palustria from one of Herb’s pots)

That morning we also found the Crest Sale at the high school. This is part of their alternative learning program, for the kids that don’t quite fit in. I kind of in some ways wish when I was going to high school I had the chance to try a program like that… Anyway, I did get three pots for 3 bucks each-

2 Agastache aurantiaca
1 “Milk Weed Sunset”

This last, when googled, came up with a Territorial Seed page as the first hit, which identified the plant as Asclepias curassavica, a tropical and sub-tropical species from Mexico and Central America in general. I remember it growing down in Panama while I was there. We will see if it does ok in our weather. And it may be something that, in a pot, could be brought in for the winter, so I will probably do that and try and keep it in the courtyard as long as possible.

Later that afternoon we went down to Maclendon’s Hardware. I wanted to take advantage of their Spring Planting Sale and get some lobelia and other annuals, but frankly they didn’t have much, and most of it was in 4in and more than I wanted to pay. We DID find two plants I was happy to find-

Salvia elegans ‘Honeymellon’
Ocimum basilium ‘Magic Mountain’

The former is similar to the ‘Tangerine’ sage we had last year, and is already in bud, so hopefully will bloom all summer like it did. The latter is a really beautiful basil with dusky purple streaked leaves and really pretty purple flowers I may just let flower it’s so pretty. The leaves are a really nice mild sweet basil flavor that will be nice in salads and such. I’m looking forward to growing it.

20140505-065832.jpg

There were a few things we picked up at the Arboretum sale, Florabundance, too.

Cuphea ignea
Cuphea micropetala
Eccremocarpus scaber “Scarlet”
Fuchsia ‘Flamingo Fever’
Fuchsia ‘foxglove wood’
Fuchsia ‘Debron’s Black Cherry’
Nemophila ‘Penny Black’

I may have missed one or two from this sale… The flat is already half planted! Lol

Leave a Reply

