Peanut Butter Humus

15 Aug

I love humus, and I don’t mind making it if I have a food processor handy. The only thing is, tahini is expensive and hard to find… But since tahini is basically sesame seed butter, I thought, why not substitute peanut butter? It isn’t exactly the same, but it does in fact work just fine. Some people like this variation, others think I’m nuts. I like peanut butter, and I like this version of humus… So I think I’ll keep making it 🙂

Ok, I got the basic recipe here- , and I must agree, the order of adding the ingredients really does help, and more to the point, let things blend and smooth out before adding anything else.

So to start, these are the ingredients you need;

1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 clove garlic
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 15oz can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

20130814-170134.jpg

Start by adding the peanut butter and lemon juice into the food processor with a steel blade, and let it run till the peanut butter lightens in color, almost getting whipped with the lemon juice.

20130814-170411.jpg

Whip it good…

20130814-170511.jpg

Keep blending till its nice and smooth. If you use a chunky peanut butter, or fresh nuts (I’ve subbed in sunflowers and it turned out nice that way too), you’ll need to blend a little longer.

Peel and add your garlic clove and spices, then a little oil if its getting thick, and a little salt. Keep blending till smooth again. Cutting up or mincing the garlic will speed this up, but your putting it into a food processor right? So blend away.

Now the garbanzos, aka chick peas. Drain the can and rinse the beans-

20130814-171106.jpg

Now add them in a handful at a time. To slow with this, don’t rush it! You want it all to be smooth when your done, so let them blend till smoothies before adding a ton more. You might even want to stop and with a spatula scrape down the sides at this point.

Scoop into a bowl, and serve with the usual humus dippers- celery sticks, chips, pita bread, whatever suits your fancy. I like jicama with this, wish I had some now. Tortilla or potato chips work great. This can even work as a filling in a sandwich if you like, with lettuce and a pickle.

Because of the raw garlic I put in this one, it’ll probably be better after things have a chance to meld a d mellow out a bit, but I kinda like it raw like this too, where the lemon and garlic are still kind of separate flavors in the mix. But that’s a personal preference, of course. Eat it how you like it!

20130814-172904.jpg

One Response to “Peanut Butter Humus”

  1. Miss.OnceUponAMarathon August 15, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    Interesting. I’ve never thought of pb hummus. Sounds good on sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

