Blackberry Jam

8 Aug

20130808-121607.jpg

We didn’t pick strawberries this year, and haven’t gotten any raspberries yet either, but the blackberries are starting to ripen so I thought we would go and get some for the first real bat h of jam of the year. Besides, although raspberry is my favorite, blackberry is a very close second, and these berries are free for the taking (well, so long as you don’t step in a hornet’s nest like I did yesterday… But I digress)

So like with the Mango Jam I did earlier in the year, I’m using the Ball brand pectin called Real Fruit Pectin- Instant Pectin in the purple striped label. There are others that they carry, including one for sugar free js and jellies, but I like freezer jam, that you don’t need to cook the fruit for, and this one works for that.

So here is what you need;

20130808-115308.jpg

6 tablespoons Ball Real Fruit Instant Pectin
5 cups mashed blackberries
3 tablespoons lemon juice (I used lime)

They used to market this pectin in individual packets, and on the directions for the packets it told you to mix the sugar and pectin in a separate bowl. Use a fork to break up any clumps in both the sugar and the pectin.

20130808-121729.jpg

Clean and layer the berries in a deep bowl, and mash them a bit at a time till you have the amount you need. I like chunky jams, so I try not to mash too much, so there are still half berries in the jam, and it’s a little lumpy. I fresh squeezed limes for this, but regular lemon juice works just fine. Add the like juice to the crushed berries and stir it in.

20130808-123831.jpg

20130808-124002.jpg

Slowly fold in the sugar and pectin to the mashed berries. Stir the pectin into the berries for three minutes to get all the sugar dissolved and the juices flowing. This may seem silly, but something about stirring for the full time really does hl the jam “feel” right.

20130808-124126.jpg

Hopefully you are better at preparing the jars ahead of time than I am… Usually I forget till I already have the jam ready, and have to scramble to get the jam jars ready in a hurry. Pour the jam into the jars, make sure you leave an inch of space at the top for the jam to expand into as it freezes.

20130808-124241.jpg

Wipe the rims of the jars before sealing, and let sit at room temperature for a few hours to make sure they set. If they don’t, you can try adding more pectin to it to get it to jell properly, or just use it as ice cream sauce. Works good for that too…

20130808-124406.jpg

I like to label the jars with the name of the fruit used and month/year I made it. I’ve used different kinds of labels and tape, but blue painters tape seems to be one of the easiest to use. It doesn’t usually leave that sticky film in the jars when you take it off, and as long as the jars are clean and dry, sticks well.

20130808-124621.jpg

As you can see, I like these canning jars with the wire closures. They seal good and are easy to wash, and I don’t have to throw out the gaskets. Besides, this is freezer jam, I don’t process these in boiling water so don’t need the same kind of seal.

You can use this base recipe for any berry- strawberry, raspberry, local or boysenberry, anything like that. I’m not so sure about blueberries or huckleberries, but it might work for those too. I usually prefer to freeze those whole, so I don’t make jam out of them.

If you have odds and ends of different kinds of fruit, or just like a mixed fruit jam, the same ratios will work for mixed berries, peaches, nectarines, plums, grated apple or pear, papaya or banana mash, and you can add cooked rhubarb, pineapple or kiwi, after its cooled. Any fruit you like can be added in.

Ok, I think I have some peanut butter around here somewhere… *grin*

2 Responses to “Blackberry Jam”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paleo Blackberry Jam | Prim and Primal - August 14, 2013

    […] Blackberry Jam (greenmannblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Strawberry and blackberry jam | Journey of a Dutch Witch - August 19, 2013

    […] Blackberry Jam (greenmannblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

