Mango Freezer Jam

6 May

Ok, as anyone who knows me will tell you, I have a life long thing for peanut butter and jam sandwhiches. I mean, if there is decent peanut butter in the house, that is my preferred lunch, and often breakfast or a snack. But, not just any peanut butter will do, and I really do prefer to make my own jam too, especially since I really don’t like most cooked jams.

There is something about taking freshly picked berries and making a nice bowl full of freezer jam that kind of locks in all that summery goodness. Freezer jam is generally pretty simple to make with the right pectin, just follow the directions, but some fruits seem to work better than others. Strawberry and raspberry are of course classics. I also like blackberry, which we can pick for free, but I find blueberry jam kind of disappointing.

Recently we got a flat of beautiful ripe mangos from Costco. As usually, it’s just a little more than the two of us can comfortably eat, but I started thinking, why not make jam out of it? So I looked online, and there seemed to be several people making it with different kinds of pectin, so I decided to try it.

The results are yummy! I’m a little concerned about the natural stringiness of the mangoes, we’ll see how well that works on a sandwich,
But the sweet mangoes taste great as a jam.

A lot of people are kind if intimidated by processing mangoes, since they have that huge tough seed inside, but for this it’s pretty simple; stand the fruit on edge, and place the knife slightly off center but parallel to the flatter side of the mango. Cut down, trying to run the blade of the knife as close to the seed pit as possible to slice off the “cheek” of the mango. Turn it around and do the same on the other side.

Now comes the neat trick- with a spoon, scoop out the juicy fruit and scrape out the inside of the skin to get all the pulp out. For this, either take small scoops with your spoon, or one big scoop, and dice the mango fruit finely. I like my jams chunky, so I will probably dice mine next time and do a minimal mash on it. I left the pieces too big and had to use my potato masher, and made a gloppy mess. Not so many chunks, and longer strings. A fine dice I think would work better.

Once you have the pulp you need, follow the directions on your pectin of choice. I like the Ball Realfruit Instant Pectin designed for freezer jams. It is a powder you can measure out for just the amount of fruit you want. In this case, I used 5 cups of mango pulp (turned out to be four mangoes, but these were huge fruits, smaller ones would take more), 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, 6 tablespoons of the pectin and 2 cups of sugar.

I like to mix the sugar and pectin in a separate bowl, then add it all at once. The pectin dissolves better that way. I stirred for a minute or so, and set it out in the sun for ten minutes while I got the jars ready. 5 cups of fruit is about perfect to fill three of the canning jars in the photo, that is one batch there. I know some people say these aren’t good jars for freezing, but they work for me. I haven’t had one of these explode on me when they freeze yet, just make sure to leave at least an inch of space on the top.

Label the date on the top of the lid, fill the jars, and let rest for a couple of hours before you throw them in the freezer. I like to make sure the jam sets before putting it in the freezer. If its syrup (not necessarily a bad thing!) I want to know before I throw it in the freezer.

This is definitely different than my usual strawberry and raspberry, but I love mango, and this should make a nice break from the typical summer berries.

20130506-091007.jpg

Update- 7/2/2014

Found some seconds at the grocery store being offered at 2/.99, and decided to add them to some strawberry mash. I got six mangoes for basically $3, and that made 6 1/2, almost 7 cups of mashed mango pulp. I sliced a fine crosshatch in the fruit before scooping it out, and that worked perfectly! Now to make more jam… Think I will reserve 5 cups for another batch of just mango, and the rest will be added to strawberry and maybe add a pair of over ripe bananas that are sitting on the counter. Sounds like a good mix to me!

4 Responses to “Mango Freezer Jam”

  1. ginapooh35 August 7, 2015 at 3:40 pm #

    Hi! Can frozen mango be used in the recipe?

    • greenmann August 7, 2015 at 11:52 pm #

      I haven’t used frozen mango specifically, but I do use all kinds of frozen berries, banana, rhubarb and the like, and have never had any trouble with them. As I posted in my mixed fruit jam, if you think the frozen fruit is a little funky, maybe freezer burned a bit, you can even add a little cinnamon to it to help mask any of that.

      • ginapooh35 August 8, 2015 at 12:40 am #

        Thanks! I’m going to try making this using frozen mangoes… Wish me luck? 🙂

      • greenmann August 8, 2015 at 1:16 am #

        I’m sure it will work just fine, but let me know how it goes! Oh, and remember to dice it finely… Mangoes tend to be stringy and cutting those strings as short as you can is a very good thing! Lol

Leave a Reply

